Altern-oPod

9 03 2011

So DJ JG’s Aussie song collection for POTUS was a fizzer among the Twitterati. She also gave him the second most expensive Sherrin, which is the equivalent of not ordering lobster on your first date. I think I can do better, mostly because I am style, fashion & politics at once.

In alphabetti-spaghetti order:

AC/DC:

  • It’s A Long Way To The Top
  • Thunderstruck
  • Shook Me All Night Long
  • Highway To Hell

The Allniters:

  • Montego Bay (every list has to feature a cover)

Australian Crawl:

  • Errol
  • Reckless (Don’t Be So)
  • Boys Light Up
  • Downhearted
  • Beautiful People

Who wouldn’t want a tribute to Tasmania’s greatest pantsman? OK, Maybe more Bill Clinton’s style. Have to include Reckless if only for the accompanying subtitles.

Boom Crash Opera:

  • Dancing In The Storm
  • The Best Thing

The Cat Empire:

  • Hello
  • Days Like These

The Church: (meh, under ‘C’)

  • Under The Milky Way
  • Almost With You

Love song dedication for FLOTUS on those long return flights on Air Force One

Cold Chisel:

  • Flame Trees
  • Bow River
  • Khe Sanh
  • Saturday Night
  • Forever Now

Essential prep for 2012 campaign when visiting factories in the flyover states.

Crowded House:

  • Into Temptation (hmm, maybe one for Bill …)
  • Private Universe (because no one knows what it’s like to sit behind that desk, except the other people who have)

The Cruel Sea:

  • The Honeymoon Is Over
  • Black Stick
  • Better Get A Lawyer Son

Because let’s face it, it is.

Deborah Conway (incl. Do Ré Mi)

  • Man Overboard
  • Consider This
  • It’s Only The Beginning

Decoder Ring:

  • Out of Range

Whispy vocal has to come in at some stage, right?

Divinyls

  • Science Fiction
  • Boys In Town

Dragon: (if Crowded House count, the fucking Hunter brothers do)

  • April Sun in Cuba (derr …)
  • Get That Jive (for trips to Chicago)
  • Are You Old Enough?
  • Still In Love With You
  • Rain

The Dynamic Hepnotics:

  • Soul Kind Of Feeling

The Easybeats

  • Friday On My Mind
  • She’s So Fine

Ed Kuepper:

  • The Way I Made You Feel

The sexiest chord progression. Maybe not of all time, but it is right up there.

Eric Bogle:

  • And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda

GANGgajang:

  • Sounds of Then

The Go-Betweens

  • Cattle and Cane
  • Bachelor Kisses
  • Streets Of Your Town

Hoodoo Gurus:

  • My Girl
  • Bittersweet
  • Like Wow-Wipeout!
  • Good Times

Hunters & Collectors:

  • Throw Your Arms Around Me
  • Holy Grail
  • Say Goodbye
  • Do You See What I See?

One of the seminal bands of my (misspent) youth

Icehouse:

  • Hey Little Girl

INXS:

  • Need You Tonight
  • Original Sin
  • Never Tear Us Apart
  • New Sensation
  • Don’t Change
  • What You Need
  • I Send A Message
  • Burn for You
  • Mystify
  • Devil Inside

OK … THE seminal band of my (misspent) youth. Limiting it to 10 tracks was difficult.

Jet:

  • Are You Gonna Be My Girl?

Jo Camilleri (Jo Jo Zep & The Falcons & The Black Sorrows):

  • Shape I’m In
  • Hit & Run
  • Chained To The Wheel
  • Hold On To Me

Kylie

  • Confide In Me
  • Love At First Sight
  • Come Into My World
  • Better The Devil You Know
  • I Believe In You
  • Can’t Get You Out of My Head
  • Spinning Around
  • On A Night Like This
  • Slow

Because it’s Kylie. Because she rocks.

The Loved Ones:

  • The Loved One

Machine Gun Fellatio:

  • The Girl of My Dreams Is Giving Me Nightmares

Midnight Oil:

  • US Forces (fuck him!)
  • Beds Are Burning
  • Power and the Passion
  • When The Generals Talk
  • The Dead Heart
  • Blue Sky Mine
  • River Runs Red
  • Stars of Warburton
  • Kosciusko

Models:

  • Out Of Mind, Out Of Sight
  • I Hear Motion

Mondo Rock:

  • Come Said The Boy

Nick Cave (solo, associated collaborators, bands)

  • Red Right Hand
  • The Weeping Song
  • The Ship Song
  • Where the Wild Roses Grow
  • Henry Lee

Someone’s got to growl at the man (occassionally)

Paul Kelly:

  • From St Kilda To Kings Cross
  • Before Too Long
  • How To Make Gravy
  • Sweet Guy
  • Dumb Things
  • Darling It Hurts

Powderfinger:

  • My Happiness

The Presets:

  • My People

The Reels:

  • Quasimodo’s Dream

Richard Clapton:

  • Girls on the Avenue

The Saints:

  • Stranded

Sherbet:

  • Howzat

Sia:

  • Breathe Me

Silverchair:

  • The Greatest View
  • Tomorrow
  • Straight Lines

Newcastle. Reprezent.

Skyhooks:

  • Ego Is Not A Dirty Word
  • Horror Movie

Slim Dusty

  • Pub With No Beer

Split Enz (yeh yeh, whatever. I’ve got Crowded House & Dragon.)

  • One Step Ahead
  • I Hope I Never
  • Message To My Girl
  • I See Red

Stevie Wright:

  • Evie (Parts I, II & III)

The Triffids:

  • Wide Open Road

Warumpi Band:

  • My Island Home

Wendy Matthews:

  • The Day You Went Away

The Whitlams:

  • No Aphrodisiac

Yothu Yindi:

  • Treaty
Actions

Information

6 responses

23 03 2011
Enigma » Blog Archive » Metamorphosen – Die Wandlungen des Lebens

[…] Altern-oPod « The Referral […]

13 03 2011
Dermott Banana

I must though dive into the controversy.
Split Enz – formed in Auckland, of Kiwis. Even later, band was primarily Kiwis.
Crowdies – a Melbourne-based Kiwi, and two Victorians. At various stages, another Melbourne-based Kiwi and an American joined the band.
I’ve no idea why the media keep calling the Crowdies a Kiwi band.

22 03 2011
the referral

On reflection I would leave the Enz out of it, but I had already gone there with Dragon, which also formed in Auckland. I had to be restrained from including ‘Maxine’ by Sharon O’Neill. Maybe I should put together an nzPod …

13 03 2011
Dermott Banana

I once had an Italian female backpacker housemate for about a year. She told me when she asked around her circle of friends in Italy for Australian music before she came out here, she ended up with a dozen songs, mainly Slim Dusty & Rolf Harris.
This list is excellent, and I think all of us who have friends overseas who’ve never been here should make a compilation disk (mp3s, burnt to a disk) and send such a playlist to foreigners, as a cultural revolution 🙂

10 03 2011
Matt

Nice!

Have you been rummaging thru my collection? :p

IMO, some worthy additions to the playlist:

Machinations:
No Say In It

Little River Band:
Playing to Win

…the VFL version is ACE!

10 03 2011
Tony McFadden

What a brilliant playlist. I’m going to make it my goal to have all of these on my iPod.

Leave a Reply

